Post 13 of 21 Daily Blog Challenge: I’m Concerned About the Blueberries

October 19, 2013

Have you seen this?

AP Photo/Mlive.com, Jake May

AP Photo/Mlive.com, Jake May

 

A mysterious billboard in Michigan. All it read is, “I’m concerned about the the blueberries.” As this ADWEEK article details, it was put up by a business man after a trip he took to Alaska. He met a 21 yr old tour guide who was concerned there wasn’t going to be enough rain for the blueberry crops that year. It struck him that this young kid was concerned about other people’s issues and not focused on only his own issues.

So Blueberries are metaphorical here. Blueberries are, “the concerns and the hurdles and the struggles that all of us deal with in a day.”

From the article:

The goal was essentially to make people see the world from the perspective of others. While vacationing in Alaska, Shaltz met a young tour guide who, when asked how things were going, said, “I’m concerned about the blueberries.” Specifically, he was worried there wouldn’t be enough rain for the state’s blueberry crop.

At first, Shaltz felt like the 21-year-old was naive to be worried about such a specific issue, but he began to respect the young man’s perspective and found himself wishing that others could be motivated to think about what’s concerning the people around us. “We all go through the day and we see people who have blueberries—their own issues—and we don’t do anything. Even when it’s not about rain, when it’s something we can impact, we show just how desensitized we’ve become. We aren’t as helpful to the common man in even the small things in life.”

I’m concerned about the blueberries too. I’m thinking about my friends near and far, my family, my co-workers, even the people in my community that I pass in the grocery store but never know what they might be dealing with in their own lives. This reminds me to do what I can, even if it’s just to extend some patience or kindness to those whose paths I cross today.

be-kind-for-everyone-you-meet-is-fighting-a-hard-battle

 

Be Kind. Be Concerned About the Blueberries.

-Mikita

 

 

Leave a Reply

