Post 10 of 21 Daily Blog Challenge: Ferris Bueller was Right

October 16, 2013

We award gold, silver and bronze to the top three in each Olympic sport. At the Kentucky Derby they award cash for win, place and show. Three is how many licks it takes to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop according to Mr. Owl.

A common practice to boost the happiness in your own life is, at the end of the day, to jot down three things you are grateful for/wins you had that day/things worth celebrating.  These can be big or small. Engaging in this daily practice that takes less than a minute is that it shifts your thinking toward the positive in life. And that focus gives us something to build on. Big wins are built on the cumulative effects of small wins.

I find this especially helpful when I find myself in a shit mood that I can’t seem to shake. I stop and list three things I’m grateful for. It keeps me from spiraling into a worse mood. It reminds me that really what I’m pissy about is temporary. It helps me redirect my energy.

As a daily practice over time, it helps me capture the beauty of life in each day. That might sound a little corny or over the top, but really it does. I enjoy the journals I’ve kept where I can go back and see what little things were the highlights of the day. I notice patterns too – a lot of my three things involve teaching and my students, and a fair amount involve food (specifically Salted Carmel Mochas, goat cheese – who doesn’t love it?, and fresh berries).

Steal away a regular moment to stop and take notice of your life. Appreciate the bright spots. Maybe do it as a family over dinner. Jot it down right before bed.

As Ferris Bueller said, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop to look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

Don’t miss it.

-Mikita

Leave a Reply

