Post 6 of 21 Daily blog challenge: What do you see?

October 12, 2013

roses-june-2013-IMG_1063

What do you see when you look at this photo? Some pink roses. Maybe you find them pretty or maybe roses aren’t your thing.

What I see when I look at this photo is a night in early June. A lovely summer night, where the air smells fresh and full of anticipation of what the rest of summer will bring. A simple night where people walk their dogs and sit on front porches after a long day at work. A night where I met some friends for pizza.

Parking for the pizza place was a block or so into the surrounding neighborhood. It made for a lovely little walk to the pizza place. I noticed these pink roses on my way; they were really quite striking and just seem to sing of summer, so I stopped to grab this one pic.

When I look at this pic, I’m instantly reminded of the good memories made that night – sitting in the giant corner booth with eight or nine of some of the loveliest, creative minds I know. Just talking, laughing, eating the most enormous pizza you’ve ever seen (seriously, it’s over 2 FEET in diameter). It was one of those perfect nights.

So long after the pizza is gone and we’ve all driven home and plunged back into the hustle and bustle of our daily lives, I look at this pic and am transported to that evening.

For everyone else, this is just a pic of some roses, for me it is a memento. I stop and look around at my desk here at home and see I’ve surrounded myself with little notes, objects, etc. that hold special meaning to me. I know the same is true for you. Take a moment right now to notice something you keep nearby and what memory or feeling it sparks for you. If you can, share the story behind the photo, trinket or note with someone in your life.

And if you are feeling so inclined, I’d love for you to share one of your objects and stories with me in the comments below.

-Mikita

Leave a Reply

