Just keep swimming

October 22, 2010

The other morning I had one of those moments where you feel all the doubts start to come flooding in. I know what a dangerous thing that can be, how it can swallow you whole and leave you defeated before you even started. I went to distract myself from the monster named ‘doubt’ lurking outside my door. I clicked on a link in my email and when the screen loaded, there it was in big BOLD RED type, “DON’T GIVE UP.” I took a screengrab and saved it. Then a friend’s fb status said “just keep swimming.” I started to wonder when we get these signs, these messages at just the right moment, where do they come from?

Is it our own internal filters at work? Is it the energy wavelength we are plugged into? Is it quiet support from our loved ones gone? Is it intuition? It got me thinking about the movie “Always” with Richard Dreyfuss & Holly Hunter. Anyone seen it? I love that movie very much. It’s a beautiful and sometimes funny story about life and love and the little voices that encourage us in those moments where we start to falter. I love Audrey Hepburn’s role as “Hap” the angel who mentors Richard Dreyfuss’s character “Pete.” It was her last starring role.

Do we all have a “Hap” or a “Pete” talking to us even though we can’t hear their voices? Can we at times be a little voice of encouragement to someone else? Two days ago, a lovely letterpress shop here in Colorado, www.birddogpress.com, posted on facebook that Apple’s iphoto was now offering letterpress cards and she didn’t know if she “should be thrilled or throw in the towel.” Knowing the Doubt Monster had come to visit this delightful shop, I stepped up and voiced ‘Don’t give up! You are not in the business of creating mass-produced cookie-cutter cards! Speak to your strengths and what it is you offer that they don’t: personalized, hand-crafted, small-batch cards from an artist’s soul.’

I know of no cure-all for the Doubt Monster, but I do know that even small little doses of encouragement – in whatever form they show themselves, is enough to keep that Monster from coming through the door and swallowing you and your dreams whole. Be kind to yourself and where you are in your life’s journey today. Celebrate the little things and lend some encouragement to those you see in need. Be someone’s “Hap.”

Leave a Reply

