day 9, alphabet typeface

January 11, 2010

Back to the Alphabet poster project. I need to lock in the main face of the alphabet before I can go back to adding creatures. Narrowed down font choices. Some are traditional, some are serifed, some are a little funky, but nothing that strays too far from recognizable letterforms. Some typefaces contain letters that can be really hard to decipher and the main point of this poster is education and decoration. I’d like it to be functional/practical as well as visually appealing.

4 Responses to “day 9, alphabet typeface”

  1. chuklz Says:

    Q is the defining letter of the alphabet, and I think #3 has the best Q for the purpose this is intended.

  2. Rheana Says:

    I like the funkiness of #3, but the Q looks sad. : ( Also, I don’t *love* the R in that set.

    I dig #1 because it is so very Sesame Street. #5 is a cool compromise between the two. Either of those would be my winner.

  3. liz Says:

    i like #4 the best, followed by #2…if you’re collecting more opinions.

  4. Rheana Says:

    FWIW. Vince’s 2 faves are 1 and 4.


Leave a Reply

